• Andrea is a contributor at:

    BlogBurst.com

    HighCallingBlogs.com

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

Finding peace among chaos

A couple of days ago I had a meltdown. Not very spiritual, but there it is. I had to make an important business decision and saw no way out of my quandary without some sort of major loss. I received a lot of well-meaning advice from loved ones and business mentors, ranging from the Pollyanna-esque “don’t worry, everything will be ok” to the depressing “you should quit this magazine business while you’re ahead.”

The best advice was not opinion-based, but Bible-based. Those well-wishers who referenced the word of God instead of giving me their biased views were the ones who helped me get a clear and balanced vision of who I am and what I’m supposed to do. Don’t get me wrong, there’s tremendous value in business experience and knowledge, but nothing beats godly wisdom. Although questions and challenges remain, I woke up this morning with renewed peace of mind and excitement — the Bible calls that “peace beyond understanding.”

Today’s take-away:
“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Phillipians 4:6-7)

Do you have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ yet? If not (or if you’re not sure) please click here to learn more. Best wishes.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for this post. It serves as a reminder. Too often my days seem to be filled with “noise” and I need to remember to stand still and listen to the whispers.

  2. At the risk of sounding like your friends who gave secular advice: I feel you pain. I was let go from my job about a year ago. It started a journey that strengthened relationships among my immediate family, broke relationships among other parts of my family, and introduced me to family I had not been part of for 25 years. Behind it all was the Lord. The family I was drawn closer to were the Christians among us. The ones that I seek out less have little interest in the Lord.

    I firmly believe that the Lord has drawn me to start my own business, as well. Yes, the odds are against us – you and me – we all know the stats for small business success – but if the Lord is with you, how can we fail? I’m from the northeast (having spent 10 recent years in Ohio), and we are almost trained to look down upon folks who live south of the Mason-Dixon line. Yet my south Georgia cousin said it best when she told me “the Lord has not brought you this far to fail.”

    Get some good counseling and a business coach (it’s worth the money) and press on. Think of how many souls depend on it!

    …Matt from PA

Leave a Reply

