• Andrea is a contributor at:

    BlogBurst.com

    HighCallingBlogs.com

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

OPPORTUNITYISNOWHERE

OPPORTUNITYISNOWHERE: You can either read it as “Opportunity is Nowhere” or “Opportunity is Now Here”–your choice. (I totally stole this one from Dan Miller.)

I know the economy is bad, but I’m surprised by how many people have emailed me lately asking me to forward their résumé (or a loved one’s) due to a recent job loss. I’ve also been hearing from folks fresh off the corporate fast-track who can’t seem to land a job in retail because they’re “overqualified” or don’t have the required retail or restaurant experience.

The marketplace is changing and we’d better be aware of new opportunities as free agents and decrease our dependency on corporations.

I think the following video is a good illustration of what’s happening in corporate America right now… It will either make you laugh or cry. Either way, it should make us think.

I happen to be excited about the future. Change can be a very, very good thing — especially when it opens our eyes to better, more productive and purposeful ways of managing life and work.

>> Digressing, I finally joined Twitter (I resisted as long as I could). You can follow me at www.twitter.com/andreaemerson. I also reserved espressoshots.com, which I envision as a much more robust version of this blog. And I have 4 months to pull it all together before baby #2 is born and all my free time is history.

4 Responses

  1. Very cool! That video cracked me up! I look forward to the changes! Let me know if there is anything that I can do for you…

  2. That video is great!

    Yah – it’s going to be rough going for a lot of folks, and yes change is good. I think we all need to be open to new possibilities, because this next year is literally going to be wholesale change for business in America.

  3. loved the video. i also enjoyed another one embedded with this one called “silly job interview” by monty python (click on the white triangle in the bottom right corner of the video).

    as silly as it is, it’s unfortunately what many will probably experience as they look for new positions.

  4. Thanks, Sam! I enjoyed that video too — coincidentally it had Portuguese captions, which happens to be my first language 🙂

    Seriously, I know a CEO who asks job applicants, if they were an animal, which animal that would be. Come to think of it, I think he once asked me what food I would be and I answered “chicken fingers” because they’re comforting and most people like them (lame answer, I know).

Leave a Reply

