• Andrea is a contributor at:

    BlogBurst.com

    HighCallingBlogs.com

    Alltop, all the cool kids (and me)

Getting angry about the right stuff

*Warning: Today’s post contains whining*

I’ve been getting angry a lot at work lately.

Angry at the customer who gives me final approval on a project, then, a few days later, decides she wants to make “just one more change.” Eight times.

Angry at the team member who gives me the wrong project specifications, forcing me to re-do it all later.

Angry when I must depend on others to meet my deadlines.

Angry when the assignment I’ve spent hours on gets canceled or postponed indefinitely.

And then this two-minute video by Rob Bell shut me up.

Here’s a highlight:

Some people are looking for a fight because they aren’t in one. The people I know who are most engaged with the suffering of the world . . . who  have given themselves to bold, beautiful, healing kinds of causes, they’re generally free from that irrational, petty kind of anger. They don’t fall under the trap of that low-grade rage that actually increases the brokenness of the world.

Amen, brother, I get it. Thanks for setting me straight.


.   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .

Related resource: “Be Angry But Don’t Blow It” 16-minute audio by Lisa  Bevere (one of my heroes)

.   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .

Coming soon: Complimentary Starbucks gift card and other goodies for our email subscribers (yum)!

Not a subscriber yet? Sign up to receive future posts via email by clicking here.

3 Responses

  1. Amen dude! I really love the Rob Bell teachings… He always has a way of putting thing into proper perspective.

    This also reminds me of a message I heard recently from my pastor who said that forgiveness is not for the benefit of those who are being forgiven. We often think that we are doing someone else a favor if we forgive them of [insert offense here… i.e. getting wrong specifications, etc.]. But forgiveness is for our own benefit. Once we forgive, then we can be free…

    Great post Andrea!

  2. I can totally relate to this situtation. Thanks for the post and the Rob Bell video. He is amazing. This is the first time I have heard him.

  3. Thanks for this. So many good thoughts here. Always love Rob Bell. Re-reading Velvet Elvis right now. But I hadn’t seen this Nooma clip before. Very powerful.

Leave a Reply

